The “Rustic” Wedding Part II

In my last blog about this subject, I spent a little time self promoting our up and coming venue for the truly rustic wedding seeker in beautiful Murphys, Ca.  As of the writing of this blog, we are now in the clearing stages to open our beautiful meadow, and getting our way through all the incredible manzanita and blackberry bushes!  All of course lend themselves to the natural terrain and flora of our area, but one doesn’t need quite that much.  Stay tuned for more details as we go along!

However, I do not think I explained in great detail, the pros and cons of seeking out this type of theme and venue.  Like I said before, there are many definitions to the word, “rustic.” To some rustic maybe just a look of a time long past.  I recently read a publication where the bride and groom chose the look and feel of the 1930’s for their wedding.  They went as far as dressing in the clothing style of the time, decorated with 30’s vintage decor, and their photographer used a digital program which made the photos look much older than they really were.  All in all the bride and groom did a fabulous job in trying to stay true to the time…at least in look and feel.  And maybe to many couples, that is their definition of rustic….and that’s great!

The photo below is what I think of when I envision the word rustic.  Now mind you this is in its VERY rustic state, but it will actually at some point be fixed up to hold a small gathering.  It is part of the this particular property and it has a lot of history.  I adore old buildings like this and old barns.  Decorating them with appropriate lighting, just brings them back to life.  Buildings like this provide a natural and VERY rustic setting that cannot be reproduced in today’s modern decor.  It may not look like much now………..but stay tuned….I have plans!  Can’t you picture mother nature’s textures and shapes in this building?  I can………..and I can’t wait to see what it will look like in the very near future!

I would love to see some of your rustic event photos.  What type of structure or outdoor setting did you choose for your day?  Show me some of your authentic rustic!  I’d love to share!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

