Using Manzanita, Birch, and Curly Willow in Your Wedding Decor

It is rare to pick up any wedding publication without seeing various ways in which to incorporate the wonderful textures of manzanita, birch, and curly willow.  Each offers a different look, shape, color and texture that is fitting for any wedding style.

Manzanita is grown in abundance in the foothill region of N Calif, and if you are lucky enough to have a friend or relative that grows it, then by all means take advantage of its many uses.  The regions of S. California now prohibit the cutting of Manzanita as it is considered an endangered plant species there, and the cost per branch is indicative of its scarcity.  The best feature of Manzanita is that out of one big branch…several smaller branches shoot off of it….which makes it perfect to hang votives, lights, beads, crystals and flowers!

Birch branches are normally more linear in their shape with a more delicate branching.  Using several bundles of Birch together can create a make shift, rustic divider, or a striking centerpiece that can fill up the void in a venue with high ceilings.  It’s straight shape makes it easy to use on and beside outdoor arches and like Manzanita can be sprayed a variety of colors to match the look and feel of the wedding.

Curly willow can be used in its fresh state…which makes it pliable and easy to twist and shape into containers, over door ways and arches. When dry, Curly Willow can add an abstract look to the decor.  Curly Willow is often found in various sizes from as tall as 6-7 feet to just over a foot or two.  Curly Willow when fresh is a perfect addition to your bouquet as it lends movement, texture, and a touch of mother nature to the most formal or rustic country look.

In my years as a florist, I have used all of these woods and vines in various ways.  Whenever possible, I encourage brides to find a way to incorporate them into their look.  Curly Willow and Birch are the most affordable, but Manzanita certainly adds more drama to any look!

At the time of this post, I am getting ready to offer Manzanita for sale.  Stay tuned to my page dedicated to the sale of beautiful Manzanita branches.  If you are interested, please leave me a message and I will get back to you!

This entry was posted in Floral Design, Wedding Day Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Using Manzanita, Birch, and Curly Willow in Your Wedding Decor

  1. Tabitha Wig says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

    • Dear Tabitha,

      Thank you so much for your compliments on my blogs. I really, really, appreciate it. I enjoy writing. The layout
      of the blog was part of the theme I chose at wordpress.com. The layout is simple, but effective, so I continue to
      stick with it. I paid a person to help me put this one together. But I think you can just go to word press and they can walk
      you through.

      Again I appreciate your compliments, and please free free to add your ideas on how I can make it better. One person added
      that some pictures would really help drive the points home…and I agree. I’ll try to do better as I go along! Have a great
      week!

Leave a Reply

